So good to be bad

I’ve mentioned several times that one my favorite things about being a runner is eating !

The better your diet the better you’ll feel while running; however, I’m a cheater. I love my sweets and carbs.

While I usually opt for the whole grain/whole wheat options, the night before a big race I get to be bad. Yes, white bread, white pasta….

STARCH STARCH STARCH ! ! !

NOM NOM NOM ! ! !

Having had tummy issues during the last L.A. Marathon, my primary focus has been nutrition. During America’s Finest City 1/2 Marathon I tried out my Vegan Gu. It worked wonderfully; although I still had to suffer through that heat. I was determined to run faster this time around.

My pre-race regimen is a dream come true:

  1. No exercise, running, walking, hiking (in fact if I can avoid moving altogether I will)
  2. No processed sugar (meaning candy, desserts, etc.)
  3. Sleep
  4. and CARBO LOADING (YAY!)

S came over and we made collaborated to make dinner. I made some bow-tie pasta. I love fun shaped pasta- it reminds me of being a kid and having Kraft Mac & Cheese (looney tunes, rug rats, etc.) Anyway, I like mine al dente, so I cook it to my liking in water, then I drizzle some olive oil on top once i remove it from the heat. I added some nutritional yeast for texture and flavor and voila.

pasta.JPG
Bow Tie Pasta

 

Sound bland? It is….. that’s where S comes in.

He made me some Garlic Bread. There are no measurements for this, because you should do it to taste. avocado oil, garlic powder, pink himalayan salt, dash of cayenne pepper…..and mix with wooden spoon until it forms a paste. Spread this onto your sourdough bread.

Make sure that you actually buy Sourdough Bread. I absentmindedly grabbed a whole wheat loaf and it doesn’t taste quite the same.

 

toast.JPG
Garlic Toast

15554674158_bf145cbb9d

One thought on “So good to be bad

Leave a comment