Artichokes and Purple Vikings

Does anyone else think that I need to take a second to take these photos instead of quickly taking a snapshot and then scarfing it down?

I really do need to have a nicer set up to share with you guys.

Anyway, let’s get cookin’. As you all know, I love color. It seems as if S and I keep encountering purple food. This time it was purple potatoes A.K.A. Purple Viking Potatoes. Ultimately, they are regular potatoes that just happen to have a beautiful color. The skin is also thinner than the skin of regular potatoes. This was a quick and simple dinner:

Step 1:

Steam your artichoke

Step 2:

Roast your beautiful Purple Vikings. Slice them up, sprinkle some sea salt and pepper, then smother in avocado oil. Pop them in the oven at 450 degrees. Make sure that you keep an eye on them as you don’t want them to burn, 20-25 minutes should do it.

I had some daiya that I had to get rid of, so I decided to sprinkle it on top. Ultimately, I think it would’ve been just fine without it.

Step 3:

Sauté some sliced zucchini, white onion, avocado oil, salt, and pepper.

That’s it! You have a beautiful and simple dinner.

Leave a comment